Things I’ve Done Instead of Packing

As it turns out, this summer has flown. I leave for London (that’s right, LONDON) on Wednesday. Today is Friday. Wednesday is happening pretty soon and have I even started packing? Of course not! Here are some things that I’ve done instead:

Big Sur, you're such a drag.

Big Sur, you’re such a drag.

  • Had dinner at a restaurant that only serves pie
  • Wrote this new blog post
  • Memorized Facebook
  • Started (and finished) Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp
  • Started (and did not finish) a book
  • Attempted to watch a Lord of the Rings movie before realizing that my bedtime is 9 p.m.
  • Spent way too much time thinking of another witty bullet point to add to this list before giving up

Anyway, aside from these stupid examples I gave above, I actually have been fairly busy. I keep thinking that I will have free time and then before I know it, that time is nowhere to be found. Whoops.

Because, food.

Because, food.

Two weekends ago, I drove up the California coast to visit IRENE in San Francisco. It took me about ten hours to get there, because I decided that it made perfect sense to stop at every single pretty view that had some form of parking option (#worthit). Irene and I spent the next day in the city and pretty much framed our entire day around food. We also somehow managed to spend like four hours at a vintage paper fair flipping through old post cards. I’m not sure how that happened, but it was great.

 "Can't be tamed" - Miley Cyrus

“Can’t be tamed” – Miley Cyrus

On Sunday, she took me to PHILZ COFFEE. It’s apparently the thing to do in NorCal. They don’t joke about their coffee, and neither do I. I also stole a bike from the Google campus (at least until the security guards asked for it back). It was a weekend to be remembered.

Besides spending some last minute quality time with quality friends before I leave, I’ve also still been working at ABC. Today was actually my last day, and it was harder to leave than I thought. Everyone has been way too nice and way too helpful and way too encouraging. They even took me out to lunch today and all started clapping for me when I left the office. I may or may not have been holding back tears, and I never expected that to happen in a workplace. I might even be a little teary eyed writing this paragraph. Those people taught me so much and I can’t wait to see them again. Oh, and you better believe I kept my I.D. badge because it’s the only rebellious thing I could think of and also the closest I will ever come to crossing Disney.

I was supposed to start packing the moment I got home today, but I’m me, so that just hasn’t happened yet. Moving to London still doesn’t feel real to me, but I guess when I actually hop on a plane and move there in a few days, it might.

The next time I blog, I just might be living in another country. And married to a British man. We shall see where life takes me.

Leave a Reply

